Blog For Mental Health

blog for mental health

“I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2014 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.”   

I came across the Blog for Mental Health site today. Considering that this blog is about my journey of unravelling the knots within my life and accepting that this is who I am, I thought it a step in the right direction, and towards acceptance, to pledge to this cause.

Although my first post was all about my labels and finding myself underneath all the stigma and names, I will give a quick run through:
I was first diagnosed with depression at age 17, although I had been cutting and unstable since the age of 14/15. I have been on and off medication after medication and been hospitalized approximately every year and a half from 2008. My last trip to the hospital due to my first OD’d attempt in 2012 (and hopefully my last) finally led to me being taken off all medication and being diagnosed with Borderline Personality Disorder. Along the way I have also suffered from PTSD, generalized anxiety disorder, Anorexia and body dysmorphic disorder, emetophobia, OCD, and self harming behaviour. This month marks about a year and a half since I was last hospitalized.

At the moment I am going through a huge shift of some sort and am battling with pretty much all of the above. I feel like a total nut case but “one day at a time” is my current motto. I am also seeing the same therapist that I have been seeing since I was first diagnosed as well as undergoing hypnotherapy for anxiety and learning to find myself through Yoga.

So here I pledge to continue writing about my experiences, good or bad, to encourage others to fight, to bring awareness to the incredible amount of people who are quietly suffering every day and to be one amongst many who are trying to defeat their demons.

We all have a story and this is mine.

For more information on the Blog for Mental Health website and taking the pledge, click here.
Also please see the original post here: A Canvas Of The Minds: A unique collaboration of different perspectives on mental health and life

2 thoughts on “Blog For Mental Health

  1. Pingback: Unravelling The Knots | The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Leave a Reply

